Testimonials

 

 

 
  • The Narrow Road to the Deep North

    Hi Emma,

    I would like to thank you for letting us stay in this wonderful holiday house.  My friends and I had a delightful time.  My sister, on a visit from the UK was overwhelmed by the setting and the features of the house.

    I, at last got round to reading Richard Flanagan’s magnificent “The Narrow Road to the Deep North” which had a special poignancy with the references to Hobart and Tasmania.

     
    Mr G White, Sydney, Australia — Nov, 2015
  • I can’t wait to go back there

    Library House is stunning!  We had a girl’s weekend away and we could not have stayed anywhere better.  Can not fault the house in any way, and I can’t wait to go back there.

    I would give a 10 star review if I was able to!

     
    Melanie Hughes, — 30th August, 2015
  • Conveniently located and the views are spectacular

     

    A wonderful place to stay.  The house is beautiful.  Conveniently located and the views are spectacular

     
    Jonathan Strahan, — 3rd August, 2015.
  • A beautiful, beautiful home.

     

    A beautiful, beautiful home!  From the second you step inside, be prepared to be transformed and enveloped into a world of luxurious but humble grandeur and decadence.  A welcoming old home that has been meticulously restored and added upon with a new wing of renovations that blends seamlessly together.

     

    Having stayed this past weekend with a family group of seven, we were torn between exploring Hobart or staying in and just relaxing in the Library House.  It definitely wasn’t long enough and we are dying to go back one day soon.  The weekend was one that provided family memories that will last forever; from the cooking in the fantastic kitchen with great local produce and wine, to the snoozing in front of the open fire, to the losing children deeply enveloped in books in the library (teenagers- I might add), to the magical views from so many windows in the house,  I can’t speak highly enough of the Library House and the magical, comfortable place that Emma has created.

     

    Little touches are very sincere to making one feel welcome with fresh flowers, scented candles, refreshing alcohol stocked in the fridge, basic kitchen essentials, Aesop toiletries, beautiful linen.  Nothing could be faulted and you could not be left wanting for anything.

     

    The Library House feels so familiar and so much like your own home.  Everyone was so disappointed to leave.   To Emma and the Library House- thank you for a wonderful weekend.

     

     

     

     
    A.W., Sydney. Australia — (As reviewed on TripAdvisor- July 2015)
  • Fabulous place to stay

    Coming from London we did not really know what to expect and our expectations were exceeded! The house is so comfortable and well equipped. The owner is very accommodating and the views are incredible. Would not hesitate to stay again.

     
    Charles F Wainwright, London, United Kingdom — Reviewed 23rd December for a stay in December 2014
  • Practically Perfect in Every Way

    This property is simply stunning! We just can’t fault any aspect of our stay here. The attention to detail started even before we arrived with Rowan offering to collect our groceries and stock the pantry ready for arrival. A quick internet click and voila, a fridge full of food and hungry teenagers sorted – a great way to start a week’s break. Rowan also went to great lengths to provide thoughtful recommendations for activities that suited 3 teenagers as well as great eating spots from quick coffees to brunches right through to indulgent anniversary dinners and birthday celebrations – both of which were celebrated this week. From the moment we arrived, we were met with warmth and charm, both from within this beautiful home and from our delightful host. With so many beautifully appointed rooms to choose from, the process of room selection left no one disappointed. Each and every one had it’s own unique charm as well as luxurious linen and ample towels for the week. The beautiful Aesop toiletries were an unexpected delight as well as extra personal items in case we had forgotten to bring our own. The main bedroom is an absolute winner and is a nice parental retreat from the rest of the household. The morning views of the Hobart sunrise were breathtaking. The kitchen had everything a gourmet chef could desire (except perhaps it’s own barista!) and with Salamanca markets close by, along with the Hill St Grocer (and the Thirsty Camel), self catering was a dream. Pre-dinner drinks and late night card games in the lounge area were supplemented by a stunning city skyline view – all within the beautiful warmth of this home designed to withstand the cold and wind that Hobart is known for. A week’s stay here wasn’t long enough but we will be back – if only to finish Heather Rose’s book! Thank you for a most memorable stay.

     
    66John66, Sydney, Australia — Reviewed 19 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
  • Spectacular Accommodation with everything you could want

    The Library house boasts magnificent 270 degree views, especially from the master bedroom, of the Derwent, estuary, Hobart city scape and surrounding mountain range. It provides quality accommodation in every sense. The little touches like Aesop toiletries, comfortable lounges with cushions and rugs, an open fireplace and foxtel make this comfortable house a pleasure to stay in. We were warmly welcomed by the host which set the tone for a wonderful stay. The house takes its name from the well stocked library in one of the rooms which is something special. The price reflects the quality of accommodation.

     
    Johno58, Melbourne, Australia — Reviewed 18 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
  • WOW….what a place to stay!

    Our girls weekend away in Hobart was amazing and this was mostly because our accommodation was FANTASTIC. The Library House was everything and more than we expected. We arrived late at night and Rowan was there waiting to welcome us…what service. We had 8 girls staying and there was so much room for us all. The kitchen and lounge area….you just never want to leave as the view is incredible. There are just no words to describe the Library House, you will just have to visit it yourself and find out :-)

     
    Nicole, Sydney, Australia — For a stay in May, 2014
  • Amazing!!

    The house was perfect. It had everything you need. Stunning views, great hosts, very we’ll stocked kitchen, great location. We will definitely come back and stay again. We loved it.

     
    Lucy Chapman, Melbourne, Australia — April, for a stay in April 2014
  • Beautiful Property!

    What a beautiful property! We didn’t want to leave & will definitely be returning.Very close to the city with amazing views. The property was meticulously clean & the attention to detail was outstanding. We had 6 people staying & there was plenty of space for everyone.We would highly recommend this property.

     
    June, Tasmania — For a stay in Dec, 2013
  • Luxurious Delight

    We were a group of four couples and Library House made our 35th get together one of the most special. Tina handled our enquiry efficiently and couldn’t have been more helpful. When we arrived at Library House Rowan was there to greet us. And what a wonderful place to arrive to. A beautiful combination of old and new done with such superb style. Comfort from the moment you walk in the door, space to enjoy each other’s company without being in each other’s way, beds that are divine with linen to match and a lovely garden with herbs, fruit and berries for guest use as they ripen. The library room is a joy to sit in with a wonderful selection of books. So lovely was this house we chose to eat in on both nights. The view is magnificent. It would be hard to find a better located, more well appointed property in Hobart. We can’t recommend this property highly enough. Thanks Tina, Rowan and Heather. We’ll definitely be back. Merelyn, Chris, Sue, Tony, John, Dee, Greg and Mary

     
    Merelyn, New South Wales — December 2013
 
 

Copyright © 2014 Library House. All Rights Reserved

Hide
Tasmania Tours